Tags

, , , ,

Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump

After a fair amount of driving we arrived in Alberta.  Our first planned stop was at the Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump Interpretive Centre. I was really impressed with the architecture of the building.  It fit so beautifully into the landscape.  The Interpretive Centre was full of interesting displays depicting life of the native people and the buffalo hunting they depended on to exist.  It was very informative.

We decided to head back to Lethbridge to take in their fireworks display for Canada Day, but stopped in at Fort Macleod to see their musical ride along the way. 

The fireworks in Lethbridge were amazing.  They were set off alongside a little lake, making them that much more spectacular.  We had a great viewing spot, but I have to admit that I was pretty tired by the time it got dark enough to start them, but I am very grateful that I managed to stay awake.  They were definitely worth it.

