Tags

, , , ,

With a FIRST LEGO Robotics team running out of our house it is safe to say we have plenty of those colorful plastic bricks hanging around.  Today we put them to good use with our homeschool co-op friends and got a taste for just how fun it can be to introduce LEGO into learning.

Earlier this week I stumbled across a LEGO Lapbook I found on “Walking by the Way”.  Let me tell you, I love lapbooks!  They are not only fun to put together, they are great when working with kids of varying ages and skills.  The younger ones love the cutting and pasting, while others can do the designed learning tasks, and the older kids coordinate the lesson.  In the end  you have a lovely, interactive keep-sake that you can reference again in the future.   Coming across this particular lapbook was a real blessing.  It made the whole lesson so easy for me….which is always an added bonus.

The kids did some estimating, multiplication and learned some very interesting LEGO facts.  We ended off our meeting time with the kids working in pairs, designing balloon powered LEGO cars and racing them across my kitchen floor.  I love learning with LEGO!

