I know it is still a few years off, but in June, when I started seeing all the grad pictures on my friends Facebook walls, it occurred to me it would be nice to have a bit of a garden in the backyard to use as a backdrop for my kids.  This is the perfect time of year to start something like this as all the garden centers are clearing out their inventory, so the prices are great!  My dad and my boys did most of the heavy work for me…..for which I am very grateful.  They removed the sod and tilled the soil.  My husband then added a load of top soil.

The kids all helped choose the plants, we chose some upright cedars that will grow nice and tall, hopefully blocking out our neighbor’s house completely.  We chose a few dwarf globe shaped cedars for the front of the bed to add continuity.  In between we planed some of my favorites, roses, hydrangea and a few specimens I haven’t had the thrill of having before.  It doesn’t look like much yet, but hopefully it will fill in a bit over the next couple years….in time for their graduation.

