I’ve taken advantage of the beautiful weather we’ve had this summer and moved many of our activities outdoors.  Not only do we get a little vitamin D, but there is less mess to deal with inside as I don’t need to concern myself with messy spills, etc.  One activity I prefer to do outside when possible is painting.

I cleaned up some of the shelves in my craft studio this week and came across some long forgotten finger paints, so the younger kids had fun mixing the colours and expressing their creativity on the back deck.  Afterwards I strung up a makeshift clothes line to display their pictures gallery style and let them dry before bringing them into the house.

Earlier this summer I designed some paint easels.  I punched wholes in the four corners of large plastic foam core sheets and attached these to our chain link fence using binder rings from the stationary supply store.  The height is easily adjusted to suit different kids and we use binder clips to secure the paper to the foam core.  These easels are perfect for the budding artist and are even weather resistant!

